Palm_backtokohala_cover copy


Buy on Itunes

CD Description

Most of the music on “Back to Kohala” is original and was composed by the three members of the trio. They’ve also included a few gems like Brian Wilson’s Warmth of the Sun, and Randy Lorenzo’s Forever Mine. While the song selection is all new, their Kohala’s classic sound resounds and continues to be open, spacious, and warm, as is the landscape of the Kohala region where they live.

Recorded at Lava Tracks Recording Studio.
Cover art by Diana Lehr
Produced by Charles Michael Brotman


Review by John Berger
of the Honolulu Star-Bulletin
“Charles Michael Brotman, Charlie Recaido and Kevin Teves come together again as Kohala to share the musical magic created when a nylon-string guitarist (Brotman) teams up with two guys who prefer the hardier steel strings. The acoustic trio emphasizes the concept and contrasting textures by mixing their recordings so that Teves is heard solely through the right speaker, Recaido on the left and Brotman is in the middle. It’s a clever idea. The tranquillity and delicacy of their arrangements make this, their fifth album, a perfect antidote to the daily stress of times like these, especially when enjoyed on headphones.”

“Been listening to “Warmth of the Sun” [from BACK TO KOHALA] … I think you could have a little new age hit on your hands. I think Palm hit on something. … ” Peter Manzi, Editor, New Age Voice Magazine, 08/13/2002


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “BACK TO KOHALA”